How much does an AI receptionist cost in the UK?
Guide · PricingBy Jon Billington8 min read
An AI receptionist costs from about £10 to £99 a month in the UK for an entry plan, from the providers we checked. The cheaper plans charge for each call on top, or include a set number of calls. Plans with unlimited calls start at £49 a month.
This guide shows the published prices from seven UK providers, including Ringzel, how the pricing works, what a month costs at different call volumes, how that compares with a human answering service or employing a receptionist, and where you can try one for free.
AI receptionist prices in the UK
Here's the cheapest plan each provider publishes, and what it includes.
| Provider | Cheapest plan | Per-call charges | What's included | Other plans | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ringzel | £99 a month (Basic). Ringzel does not currently charge VAT | None. Unlimited calls | Unlimited calls, call summaries and WhatsApp follow-up from your Ringzel account, where available. Integrations on Premium. Android app on Google Play, iPhone app coming soon | £179 (adds website chat, bookings and call transfers) and £299 (adds integrations and reputation management) | 14 days, no card |
| Answer.co.uk AI Receptionist | £10 a month plus VAT | Yes, 85p a call | Plus 85p a call | None shown | Not stated |
| IONOS AI Receptionist | £39 a month excl. VAT (Flex) | After 30 calls, 49p a call | 30 calls, then 49p a call | £69 for 100 calls, then 39p a call. £99 for unlimited calls. All excl. VAT | First month free |
| Hey Jodie | £49 a month (Basic). Prices exclude applicable taxes | None. Unlimited minutes | Unlimited minutes | £99, £199, Enterprise from £500 | 7 days, no card |
| Sayora | £49 a month (Pro, early-bird price, then £79). No VAT added | None for early-bird customers | Unlimited minutes for early-bird customers. A UK number is included | Enterprise, custom price | 7 days |
| Trade Receptionist | £49 a month (Starter). No VAT added | None charged automatically. Plans include a set number of calls | 50 calls | £89 for 150 calls, £159 for 350, £249 for 600 | 14 days, card needed |
| Moneypenny AI Receptionist | From £49 a month | Priced by quote | Priced by quote | Priced by quote | Not stated |
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- £99 a month (Basic). Ringzel does not currently charge VAT
- Per-call charges
- None. Unlimited calls
- What's included
- Unlimited calls, call summaries and WhatsApp follow-up from your Ringzel account, where available. Integrations on Premium. Android app on Google Play, iPhone app coming soon
- Other plans
- £179 (adds website chat, bookings and call transfers) and £299 (adds integrations and reputation management)
- Free trial
- 14 days, no card
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- £10 a month plus VAT
- Per-call charges
- Yes, 85p a call
- What's included
- Plus 85p a call
- Other plans
- None shown
- Free trial
- Not stated
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- £39 a month excl. VAT (Flex)
- Per-call charges
- After 30 calls, 49p a call
- What's included
- 30 calls, then 49p a call
- Other plans
- £69 for 100 calls, then 39p a call. £99 for unlimited calls. All excl. VAT
- Free trial
- First month free
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- £49 a month (Basic). Prices exclude applicable taxes
- Per-call charges
- None. Unlimited minutes
- What's included
- Unlimited minutes
- Other plans
- £99, £199, Enterprise from £500
- Free trial
- 7 days, no card
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- £49 a month (Pro, early-bird price, then £79). No VAT added
- Per-call charges
- None for early-bird customers
- What's included
- Unlimited minutes for early-bird customers. A UK number is included
- Other plans
- Enterprise, custom price
- Free trial
- 7 days
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- £49 a month (Starter). No VAT added
- Per-call charges
- None charged automatically. Plans include a set number of calls
- What's included
- 50 calls
- Other plans
- £89 for 150 calls, £159 for 350, £249 for 600
- Free trial
- 14 days, card needed
Provider
- Cheapest plan
- From £49 a month
- Per-call charges
- Priced by quote
- What's included
- Priced by quote
- Other plans
- Priced by quote
- Free trial
- Not stated
Some providers don't publish a price. BT Business sells its AI receptionist in bundles of 100 minutes, with a £150 one-off education session. AI Receptionist UK and AI Reception (Iona) ask you to get in touch.
How AI receptionists are priced
There are three common ways UK providers charge:
| Pricing model | How it works | Example | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Per call | A small monthly fee, then a charge for every call | Answer.co.uk: £10 a month plus 85p a call, plus VAT | Very few calls |
| Calls included | A monthly fee covers a set number of calls. Extra calls cost more or need a bigger plan | IONOS Flex: 30 calls for £39 excl. VAT, then 49p a call. Trade Receptionist: 50 calls for £49 | A steady, predictable number of calls |
| Unlimited | One monthly fee, however many calls you get | Hey Jodie from £49 a month. Ringzel from £99 a month | Busy or unpredictable months |
Pricing model
Per call
- How it works
- A small monthly fee, then a charge for every call
- Example
- Answer.co.uk: £10 a month plus 85p a call, plus VAT
- Best for
- Very few calls
Pricing model
Calls included
- How it works
- A monthly fee covers a set number of calls. Extra calls cost more or need a bigger plan
- Example
- IONOS Flex: 30 calls for £39 excl. VAT, then 49p a call. Trade Receptionist: 50 calls for £49
- Best for
- A steady, predictable number of calls
Pricing model
Unlimited
- How it works
- One monthly fee, however many calls you get
- Example
- Hey Jodie from £49 a month. Ringzel from £99 a month
- Best for
- Busy or unpredictable months
Watch whether a plan counts calls or minutes. A plan with minutes included runs out faster if callers talk for a long time. A plan with calls included counts a two-minute call and a ten-minute call the same.
What an AI receptionist costs at 60 and 200 calls a month
The headline price only tells you part of it. Here's what each published plan comes to at two call volumes, using the cheapest plan that covers the calls. These are worked examples from the published prices, not quotes.
| Provider | 60 calls a month | 200 calls a month |
|---|---|---|
| Answer.co.uk AI Receptionist | £61 plus VAT (£10 + 60 × 85p) | £180 plus VAT (£10 + 200 × 85p) |
| IONOS AI Receptionist | £53.70 excl. VAT (Flex: £39 + 30 × 49p) | £99 excl. VAT (Unlimited) |
| Trade Receptionist | £89 (Pro, 150 calls) | £159 (Business, 350 calls) |
| Hey Jodie | £49 plus applicable taxes (Basic, unlimited minutes) | £49 plus applicable taxes (Basic, unlimited minutes) |
| Ringzel | £99 (Basic, unlimited calls) | £99 (Basic, unlimited calls) |
Provider
Answer.co.uk AI Receptionist
- 60 calls a month
- £61 plus VAT (£10 + 60 × 85p)
- 200 calls a month
- £180 plus VAT (£10 + 200 × 85p)
Provider
IONOS AI Receptionist
- 60 calls a month
- £53.70 excl. VAT (Flex: £39 + 30 × 49p)
- 200 calls a month
- £99 excl. VAT (Unlimited)
Provider
Trade Receptionist
- 60 calls a month
- £89 (Pro, 150 calls)
- 200 calls a month
- £159 (Business, 350 calls)
Provider
Hey Jodie
- 60 calls a month
- £49 plus applicable taxes (Basic, unlimited minutes)
- 200 calls a month
- £49 plus applicable taxes (Basic, unlimited minutes)
Provider
Ringzel
- 60 calls a month
- £99 (Basic, unlimited calls)
- 200 calls a month
- £99 (Basic, unlimited calls)
Per-call pricing is cheapest when you get very few calls. Once you get more than a few dozen calls a month, a plan with lots of calls included, or unlimited calls, usually works out cheaper and is easier to predict.
Price isn't the only difference. Check what each plan actually does on a call, such as booking appointments, sending you a summary or transferring urgent calls, because cheaper plans often leave these out.
AI receptionist vs answering service vs employing a receptionist: cost
A human answering service, sometimes called a virtual receptionist, usually charges per call. Here's what some UK services publish, next to the cost of employing a receptionist.
| Option | Example | Published price | What it means at 60 calls a month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Human answering service, pay per call | Answer.co.uk | £2.20 a call plus VAT, no monthly fee | £132 plus VAT |
| Human answering service, calls included | ReceptionHQ | £60 a month plus VAT for 50 calls, then £1.30 a call | £73 plus VAT |
| Human receptionists, calls included | Pocket Receptionist | £75 a month for 30 calls, £145 for 60. Extra calls £2.99. Answers 8am to 8pm | £145 |
| Employing a receptionist | National Careers Service | £21,000 to £25,000 a year average salary, starter to experienced, for 37 to 40 hours a week | About £1,750 to £2,080 a month in salary, before employer National Insurance and pension |
Option
Human answering service, pay per call
- Example
- Answer.co.uk
- Published price
- £2.20 a call plus VAT, no monthly fee
- What it means at 60 calls a month
- £132 plus VAT
Option
Human answering service, calls included
- Example
- ReceptionHQ
- Published price
- £60 a month plus VAT for 50 calls, then £1.30 a call
- What it means at 60 calls a month
- £73 plus VAT
Option
Human receptionists, calls included
- Example
- Pocket Receptionist
- Published price
- £75 a month for 30 calls, £145 for 60. Extra calls £2.99. Answers 8am to 8pm
- What it means at 60 calls a month
- £145
Option
Employing a receptionist
- Example
- National Careers Service
- Published price
- £21,000 to £25,000 a year average salary, starter to experienced, for 37 to 40 hours a week
- What it means at 60 calls a month
- About £1,750 to £2,080 a month in salary, before employer National Insurance and pension
A person can handle calls that need judgement, and some callers prefer it. An AI receptionist costs less per call and doesn't need cover for breaks, holidays or sick days. Our guide to AI receptionists vs answering services covers when each one fits.
Is there a free AI receptionist?
Not permanently, from the UK providers we checked, but most let you try one free first:
| Provider | Free trial | Card needed to start? |
|---|---|---|
| IONOS AI Receptionist | First month free, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee | Check with IONOS |
| Ringzel | 14 days | No |
| Trade Receptionist | 14 days | Yes |
| Hey Jodie | 7 days | No |
| Sayora | 7 days after you claim it | Check with Sayora |
Provider
IONOS AI Receptionist
- Free trial
- First month free, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee
- Card needed to start?
- Check with IONOS
Provider
Ringzel
- Free trial
- 14 days
- Card needed to start?
- No
Provider
Trade Receptionist
- Free trial
- 14 days
- Card needed to start?
- Yes
Provider
Hey Jodie
- Free trial
- 7 days
- Card needed to start?
- No
Provider
Sayora
- Free trial
- 7 days after you claim it
- Card needed to start?
- Check with Sayora
A trial is the best way to judge the price. Ring it yourself, then check what you get after the call.
What is the cheapest AI receptionist in the UK?
It depends on how many calls you get. For a handful of calls a month, Answer.co.uk's AI Receptionist has the lowest monthly fee, at £10 a month plus 85p a call, plus VAT. IONOS Flex is £39 a month excl. VAT for 30 calls.
For more calls, look at plans with unlimited calls or minutes. Hey Jodie and Sayora both publish £49 a month plans with unlimited minutes. IONOS Unlimited is £99 a month excl. VAT, and Ringzel is £99 a month with unlimited calls.
The cheapest plan isn't always the cheapest choice. A missed booking or a caller who hangs up can cost more than the difference. Our guide to whether an AI receptionist is worth it shows how to work that out with your own numbers.
Costs to check beyond the monthly price
- 1VAT. Some prices exclude VAT, some say no VAT is added, and some add tax at checkout. Compare like with like.
- 2Extra calls or minutes. Check what happens when you go over your allowance: a charge per call, a bigger plan, or nothing.
- 3Calls or minutes. A minute allowance runs out faster when calls are long.
- 4Contract length. Most AI receptionists are monthly, but check for a minimum term or a yearly plan you pay upfront.
- 5One-off fees. Some providers charge for setup or training. BT Business, for example, charges £150 for a one-off education session.
- 6What's on each plan. Booking, call transfers, website chat and integrations are often only on the higher plans.
- 7Your phone bill. If you forward calls from your own number, check whether your phone provider charges for diverted calls.
What Ringzel costs
Ringzel is an AI receptionist for UK small businesses. Plans are £99, £179 or £299 a month, with unlimited calls on every plan and no per-call charges. Pay yearly and you get 12 months for the price of 10. Ringzel does not currently charge VAT.
Ringzel answers in your business name, asks the questions you've set and can book callers into your calendar. After every call you get the recording, the transcript, a summary and a check report. You keep your own number and forward the calls you can't take.
Ringzel isn't the cheapest option. If you only need calls picked up, a cheaper plan may suit you. If you want unlimited calls and a record of how every call was handled, that's what Ringzel is built for.
14-day free trial. No card to start. Keep your number.
Questions about AI receptionist costs
How much does an AI receptionist cost per month in the UK?
From about £10 to £99 a month for an entry plan, from the UK providers we checked on 23 October 2026. Plans with a low monthly fee usually charge per call, or include a set number of calls. Plans with unlimited calls or minutes start at £49 a month.
What is the cheapest AI receptionist in the UK?
For very few calls, Answer.co.uk's AI Receptionist, at £10 a month plus 85p a call, plus VAT. For more calls, Hey Jodie and Sayora publish £49 a month plans with unlimited minutes.
Is there a free AI receptionist?
Not permanently, from the providers we checked, but you can try most for free. IONOS gives the first month free, Ringzel and Trade Receptionist offer 14-day trials, and Hey Jodie and Sayora offer 7-day trials. Ringzel and Hey Jodie don't need a card to start.
Is an AI receptionist cheaper than an answering service?
Usually, once you get more than a few calls. Answer.co.uk's human service is £2.20 a call plus VAT, which is £132 plus VAT for 60 calls. Most AI receptionists cover 60 calls for under £100 a month.
How much does a virtual receptionist cost in the UK?
Human virtual receptionist services we checked charge from about £1.30 to £2.99 a call, or a monthly fee for a set number of calls. ReceptionHQ is £60 a month plus VAT for 50 calls. Pocket Receptionist is £75 a month for 30 calls.
Do AI receptionist prices include VAT?
It varies. IONOS and Answer.co.uk quote prices excluding VAT, Hey Jodie's prices exclude applicable taxes, and Sayora and Trade Receptionist say no VAT is added. Ringzel does not currently charge VAT.
Are calls unlimited on an AI receptionist?
On some plans. IONOS Unlimited and every Ringzel plan include unlimited calls. Hey Jodie and Sayora's early-bird plan include unlimited minutes. Others include a set number of calls or minutes and charge, or ask you to upgrade, when you go over.
How much does it cost to employ a receptionist in the UK?
The National Careers Service puts the average receptionist salary at £21,000 to £25,000 a year, starter to experienced, for 37 to 40 hours a week. Employer National Insurance and pension come on top.
Is an AI receptionist worth the money?
It's worth it when the enquiries it saves are worth more than the monthly cost. Our guide to whether an AI receptionist is worth it shows how to work it out with your own missed calls and job values.


